Utah is the 6th best urban market when it comes to rental investments among US states. Precisely, Utah’s capital ‘Salt Lake City’ remains one of the best cities to invest in rental properties.
If you are planning to lease a property in Utah, make sure you are knowledgeable of the Utah rental lease agreement. Both landlord and tenants need to know what is Utah lease agreement and why is it important.
If you want to know what Utah rental lease agreement form includes, read on this article.
What Is a Utah Lease Agreement?
Utah lease agreement is fundamentally a written document that includes the necessary information to create a legal agreement between landlord and tenant. It is considered as the legal contract between both parties.
Utah lease agreement states the legal rights and responsibilities of property owners and tenants. This legal document outlines the terms and conditions over the use of the rental property and maintains legal protections.
In Utah, property owners are advised to screen potential tenants prior to authorizing the contract. They use the Utah rental lease agreement form to ensure that tenants are eligible to lease residential property.
Moreover, this agreement includes terms, rent (payment amount), and obligations of potential tenants when leasing residential property. It is recommended that tenants should read the rental lease agreement form thoroughly and agree to all of its sections before signing the agreement.
Before presenting the Utah lease agreement to the tenant, landlords must use Utah rental application form to examine the tenant’s eligibility. This rental application helps landlords in checking income information, employment and credit history, rental history, and background information.
After approval of tenants, the agreement can be signed by both landlord and tenants. Of note, both parties must adhere to rental lease laws when performing rental transactions in Utah.
Utah Landlord and Tenant Laws
The US state of Utah has established laws for both tenants and landlords. These laws enable both parties to deal with legal problems without the assistance of a lawyer. Below mentioned are the key landlord and tenant laws that you must follow.
Under federal laws, landlords must disclose information about any non-refundable fees in the lease agreement Utah. Besides, they should disclose details about security deposits, existing damages, shared utility arrangements, etc.
There is no statuary limit for Utah landlords when charging tenants for a security deposit. However, it limits when security deposit must be returned within 30 days after moving of tenants or within 15 days of receiving their forwarding address.
Small Claims Lawsuits
In Utah, tenants can file a security deposit lawsuit against their landlords in small claims court. Landlords can be sued to return security deposits of the amount up to $10,000.
Utah State also regulates aspects related to renting such as time for rental payment, due rent, late fees, eviction rules, termination, etc.
Repair and Deduct Rights of Tenants
In case the landlord fails to manage important repairs, tenants can exercise their right to ‘repair and deduct’. Precisely, tenants can deduct the repair cost from future rental payments.
Rules for Termination and Eviction
Landlords are allowed to give unconditional quit notice to holdover tenants to move out rental property within 3 days before they file an eviction.
Access to Rental Premise
The landlord must provide 1-day prior notice to enter the tenant’s premises. This is to protect the tenant’s privacy.
Utah Lease Disclosures & Addendums
Below mentioned are the lease disclosures and addendums that are required for some and all Utah rental lease agreements.
Name & Address of Landlord
The landlord must disclose name and address to tenants in the Utah lease agreement so that future demands and legal notices could be delivered. Besides, the landlord should provide the name and address of another authorized person who will act on his/her behalf.
Landlords must provide tenants with a move-in checklist outlining the condition of rental property and inventory before tenants move-in. This checklist helps a landlord in recovering security deposits.
Methamphetamine Contamination Disclosure
This disclosure is applicable to the rental property where there is possible contamination. In Utah, landlords must disclose any information related to methamphetamine manufacturing, use, or storage.
Lead-Based Paint Disclosure
Under US federal law, landlords must disclose the anticipated risks of rental units that were built before 1978. Landlords should attach and fill out lead-based paint disclosure form in the rental lease agreement Utah.
Optional Disclosures & Addendums
In Utah rental lease agreement, there are some optional disclosures and addendums that are not legally binding by Utah laws. However, these disclosures can help landlords to eliminate legal liabilities.
Use of Medical Marijuana
Landlords must state in Utah lease agreement where tenants can use medical marijuana on rental property. Under Utah laws, landlords can restrict non-smoking methods of marijuana usage and control where tenants can smoke marijuana without affecting other tenants.
Returned Check Fees
The landlord should disclose information to tenants about returned check fees. For instance, upon returning, tenants can be charged for $20 service charges in a case $20 collection fee is not paid by the tenant within 15 days’ notice period.
Shared Utilities Arrangements
Landlords are required to disclose information regarding shared utilities on rental property. For instance, how utilities will be shared, how the bill will be calculated and distributed between parties.
Bed Bug Disclosure
If there is any infestation history on the rental property, a landlord should disclose to tenants in Utah rental agreement. Moreover, landlords should provide information to the tenant on a protocol to handle the future infestation.
Buildings that were built before 1981 are at high risk for asbestos. Therefore, landlords must disclose the existence of asbestos on rental property.
Landlords are recommended to disclose information about the current status of mold on rental property. Mold disclosure in Utah renter agreement can protect the landlord against future liabilities relating to mold damages.
Utah rental lease agreement allows landlords to protect future liabilities. After agreeing to the terms and conditions of the rental lease agreement, both landlords and tenants can avoid rent-related issues.
Now you have a basic understanding of Utah rental lease agreement; you can rent or invest in the residential property legally. You can find a great downloadable template for the Utah lease agreement at CocoSign.
We also provide our customers with various types of agreements. So visit our website and download any template that suits you.
Parties other than CocoSign may provide products, services, recommendations, or views on CocoSign’s site (“Third Party Materials”). CocoSign is not responsible for examining or evaluating such Third Party Materials, and does not provide any warranties relating to the Third Party Materials. Links to such Third Party Materials are for your convenience and does not constitute an endorsement of such Third Party Materials.