What Are the Labor Laws in Virginia?
Labor laws in VA are rules that apply to every section of the employment connection, from employment to dismissal. There are generally five main types of labor laws in Virginia, which are Legal Holidays, Right To Work, Wage and Hour, Civil Rights, and Whistleblower Laws.
Legal holidays in the state of Virginia will include days like Presidents' Day and Thanksgiving, which are those days where employees are entitled to a day off from work or in some instances are eligible for paid work leave. When it comes to "right-to-work" laws in Virginia, these essentially restrict employers from giving priority to either union or non-union employees when hiring new staff.
Virginia Wage and Hour Laws, essentially handle minimum wage pay, overtime pay, rest requirements, and other related wage rules. Virginia Civil Rights Laws protect people’s civil rights, making it illegal for an employer to discriminate based on race, color, age, sex, sexual orientation, gender, religion, national origin, etc.
Finally, Whistleblower Laws in the state of Virginia essentially prevent employers from firing employees who claim unsafe or illegal conditions in any place of business.
How Many Hours Can You Legally Work in a Day in Virginia?
No laws are governing how many hours or days per week Virginia employees over the age of 16 are allowed to work. There are no federal guidelines, either. However, under the Virginia Wage Payment Act, workers who are hired and paid by the hour must always receive their wages at least once every two weeks.
Moreover, any worker that ends up fired must receive their allotted wages either on or before the usual date by which they are normally paid. In other words, even if the worker is fired from their job, it is a must that they are paid for all hours they worked until the next scheduled pay date.
Additionally, Virginia labor laws state employers are required to provide a meal and rest at least 30 minutes to minors. But that requirement does not apply if the employee is over the age of 16 years.
How Do I Apply for Unemployment Benefits in Virginia?
The Virginia Employment Commission is essentially responsible for all forms of unemployment compensation and will determine whether or not you can receive benefits. However, for you to qualify, you must be unemployed without it being your fault.
You must also have been earning the minimum wage amount before being unemployed. Plus, you must be prepared to work and should be currently seeking new employment. If you are able to receive unemployment benefits, then what you are paid will be determined by the highest amount you earned during the base period of your employment.
Furthermore, when filling out the claims forms, you will need your social security number, details about your previous place of employment such as addresses, phone numbers, etc. You will also need to detail where and when you have been employed within the past 18 months, and if you work through a union, you will also need to submit those details as well.
Additionally, if you are not a US citizen, you must also give out your alien registration number. On the other hand, if you are employed by a company or employer that is not based in Virginia, then you will have to provide the relevant contact and employment information as well.
It is important that you have prepared all these details and information beforehand. Once you have everything ready, you may then file your claim for unemployment benefits electronically through the website of the Virginia Employment Commission.